Historic Inns & Famous Homes
of Maryland

Worcester County

Worcester County invites you to explore and enjoy a small world of diverse and unspoiled natural beauty. To the east lie shimmering Atlantic beaches and to the west, more than 13,000 acres of State Forest. From north to south the timeless Pocomoke River travels the length of the county. Recreational opportunities are as rewarding as the landscape. Fishermen enjoy the Assateaque surf where wild ponies range without restriction. The back bays, Assawoman, Sinepuxent and Chincoteque, provide great places for crabbers, hikers, bikers and sightseers. Fields and marshes have turned up prehistoric artifacts and remains of Indian villages. History buffs will find unique musuems and restored homes and churches that are testimony to the county's intriguing past.

Snow Hill, the county seat, was founded in 1642 and boasts three hundred years on the Pocomoke River. Many historic homes and churches date back to those early years. One hundred historic homes line its streets. Although a disastrous fire of 1893 destroyed Snow Hill's original downtown area, many other historic homes remain, including several pre-Revolutionary structures. Enjoy the town's charm and architectural highlights on the Snow Hill Walking Tour. Visit the Purnell Museum, home to arts and artifacts, costumes, antique toys and machinery, exclusively from Worcester County. Look in on the Mt. Zion one-room schoolhouse, restored to its turn of the century condition. Close by is Furnace Town, a recreated 19th century industrial village. Canoe rentals and river cruises originate right in town.

Historic Berlin's newly restored downtown captures the charm of a turn of the century main street. The hotel, shops and Calvin B. Taylor Museum offer a collection of local memorabilia and give you the flavor of the area. Nearby are Stephen Decatur Park, harness racing and public golf courses. Just east of Berlin is Assateague State Park and Assateague Island National Seashore. Enjoy camping, swimming, fishing and hunting in nature's pristine beauty. Pocomoke City is directly on the river bearing its name and only a short cruise from the fine fishing of Pocomoke sound. Cypress Park invites you to visit the town by boat. The Costen House, a splendid home of late Victorian style features a delightful public garden.
 

Warren House

Warren House The Warren House on Church Street in historic Snow Hill is a magnificent example of the Victorian era. Built in 1895 by a former governor and two times senator, it was in its glory in the 19th century. The house was the former home of Paul Cohen, a beloved Snow Hill physician. His X-ray machine is still in the small laboratory area off the kitchen. His examining room was in the parlor to the left of the ornate front door, which bears a family crest on its transom along with exquisite stained glass panels which can be seen throughout the house. These are believed to be the work of Tiffany. The dining room is enhanced by stained glass windows depicting huge blue birds and stags on opposite side panels. The hall newel posts curve above wide welcoming steps. At one time the posts bore a cherub lamp on each, but during a dance in the hall, someone tipped over one lamp. Upstairs, the corner bedrooms are especially inviiting with three tall alcove windows, looking out on the shaded lawns and gardens with a beautiful collection of exotic trees. This is a storybook kind of home, the kind of house of happy days and wondrous dreams.
 

Chanceford Hall

Chanceford Hall Chanceford Hall, a stuccoed brick home on the National Register, is a stately and dignified bed and breakfast with cordial owners who have preserved it as it was in colonial times. The house was probably built from 1759-1790, after the property was purchased from Francis Ross by James Rounds Morris, Clerk of the Court. The second owner was Judge William Whittington, who died in 1876 and is buried nearby. His son-in-law, Judge William Tingle, inherited. Later, Judge Edward O. Thomas owned it. The court house is a few blocks away. The front door is on the pedimented gable end, usually by the side, and has dentils and bull's eye window with a star pattern. An exterior paneled door has been added. A small overhang roof is supported by columns on either side of the doorway. The fine old English ivy which legend says came from Kenilworth castle is still verdant. There are 10 working fireplaces in the house, boasting original woodwork, plaster, floors mantles and two living rooms. The former ballroom, is now a large kitchen with handsome cabinets. The ballroom mantel is in the elegant dining room wihich has three foot wainscoting and fluted window panels. In 1970, a solarium was added near a lovely pool.
Worchester County : River House Inn

River House Inn

The River House Inn, on Market Street in Historic Snow Hill offers four guest accomodations near a spacious Victorian House on the National Register. Beautiful gardens, meticulously kept, roll down to the Pocomoke River where a pontoon boat called "The Otter" can take you on a guided tour of the scenic area.

The Ivy Cottage, previously the owner's quarters has a spacious living room in a sophisticated floral motif with tasteful prints, a cozy fireplace and luxurious hot tub. The dining area near a complete modern kitchen permits the enjoyment of full country breakfasts carried right to your door. Enjoy the innkeeper's exceptionally sumptuous freshly baked breads, fresh pineapple, delectable country sausages and egg entrees to sigh for. Or have breakfast in bed upstairs surrounded by a lovely lilac motif near the bath with its large oval tub. After breakfast, walk out the garden door and play with "the girls", two darling poodles who are the gentle stars of the inn.

Next door in the Little House suites on each floor of a charming 1834 cottage you will find the Lilac Suite. Taking its name from the lilac trees blooming right outside your window, it offers a sitting room with fireplace, tv, vcr, bedroom, kitchen and bath. Dover Suite has two bedrooms with twin beds, great for hunters or fishermen, fireplace and bath.

The River Cottage formerly an 1890 Carriage Barn, is now a deluxe, private cottage with fireplace, porch, microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, tv, vcr and whirlpool tub, conforming to A.D.A. standards.

The Riverview Hideaways are two private rooms each with whirlpool tubs, tv, vcr, fireplace, microwave, mini-fridge and coffeemaker. Each boasts a private 28 foot porch with a beautiful view up the Pocomoke River.

Innkeepers: Larry and Susanne Knudsen. Address: 201 East Market St., Snow Hill, Md. 21863.Phone: 410-632-2722 Rooms: 4 luxurious cottages with all the amenities. Meals: Full country breakfast brought to your door, complimentary beverages, Group dinners catered by arrangement. Well behaved children welcome and pets confirmed ahead. Nearby: In the 1686 village filled with architectural treasures, The Julia Purnell Museum of antique tools, crafts and fashions. Furnace Town Museum, Assateaque, Chincoteague, Ocean City, Crisfield, or Smith & Tangier isles. Canoeing, Kayaking, cruising, hiking. Walk to restaurants.

Mansion House - Worchester County

Mansion House

Mansion House - Snow Hill, MD The Mansion House at 4436 Bayside Rd in Public Landing just a few miles from Snow Hill is a splendid waterfront edifice overlooking a broad expanse of Chincoteaque Bay. Built about 1835 for landowner and judge Ara Spence, this waterfront planter's residence has been carefully restored to its original grace and placed on the National Register through the ministrations of architectural historian Paul Touart. In his book Along The Seaboard Side, Mr. Touart calls it " A 4 four part stepped dwelling with Federal Style woodwork. assembled with mature cut nails and hand-split oak lath features". Common to stepped dwellings is the interior brick fireplace in the kitchen, which was used for cooking by slaves, sent back to Liberia at Ara's death, as decreed in his will. An identical house was the mansion of Thomas Spense a relative of Ara and the last owner of historic Furnace Town. west of Snow Hill.

Ara married Anna Maria Robins in 1818. She died young and in 1833. he married Priscilla A. Wilson for whom he may have added the front portion of the house with its verandas. Here, a great room stretches its length and serves for community luncheons with Carol. the excellent chef/owner hosting. For breakfasts, she serves such delights as as a sumptuous plum tart and omelets with spinach or fresh blueberry pancakes to her inn guests.

Upon arrival, they are greeted by their genial hosts near an exquisite African table, crowned by a Rose Medallion bowl. Bella, their clever Portugese water dog may be in tow. Comfortable antiques are grouped near fireplaces. and beyond is a hallway featuring a long African table and a piano like instrument, serving as a bar near the dining room. An ornate staircase leads to four guest rooms. The Ocean View in soft yellow tones with canopy bed and The Blue Heron, in muted blue with heron painting over the mantle are in the newer addition, while light green and beige rooms are in the original portion.

Gardens with camelia. many other flowers and a lily pond stretch down to the water with visions of Assateque Isle in the distance. This lovely inn and its mileu comprises a perfect formula for complete relaxation and enchantment.


Innkeepers: George Hugebuum and Carol Pauley, Address: 4436 Bayside Rd, Public Landing, Snow Hill, Md. 21863. Phone: 410-632-3189. Rooms, 4 with private baths and all the amenities, queen size beds with pressure relieving mattresses. Nearby, boating and swimming from a private pier, Kayaking, biking, bird watching, golf, fishing, hikings antiquing. Beaches of Assateque and Ocean City are only 30 minutes away.
www.mansionhouse.org


[Return to Historic Inns & Famous Homes of Maryland.]